Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

When young people decide to apply in a university which is far away from their city, they are in dilemma to choose between dormitory or rent an apartment. Disregarding money, which is the most important factor, there are several factors that should be considered carefully in choosing dormitory or apartment.

When you choose apartment, you rent a place that is quiet and private. You may share the facilities with your roommate, which is chosen by you, not anybody else. In apartment, you can focus on your courses because there is no other students that make noise and disturb you. Furthermore, you do not need to wait for some facilities like bath or W.C. because of many other people that are on the line to use them. In addition, in your apartment, you can design your personal and shared stuffs with your taste and your roommate's taste. Thus, living in an apartment is similar to live with your spouse that needs to organized and learn some skills life cooking, cleaning and saving electricity and water.

In contrast, If you choose dormitory, you get some other kinds of benefits. In dormitory, you are close to campus which let you to study in library until night or use university's facilities every time you need. Furthermore, your security is guaranteed by campus police and they are maintaining student's stuff and health in 24 hours of the day, Furthermore, most of dormitories provide meal at the breakfast, lunch and dinner to the students which help them to allocate most of their time to studying instead of cooking. An other advantage of living in dormitory is that you have broader communications compared to living in apartments. Because you live in a place that is full of other students which comes from other cities and countries. They can help you to learn courses and pass exams and many other things. So, living in dormitory helps you to get more experience in interaction with other people that is very important future work prosperity.

Personally, I prefer to live in apartment. As mentioned, personal apartment is quiet and I am a person whose need badly a calm place to concentrate. I can not live in dormitory because I am very sensitive about being on time. Since bath and toilet is shared by many people in dormitory, I really freak out if got late because of a problem in access of these facilities. Finally, I really like cooking in a private place. So, as dormitory is limited in cooking, I prefer to live in a place that I can cooking everyday.

To sum, both dormitory and apartment have their own benefits. But it is depend on you that prefer which one of them. Actually, it is highly related to personality too. If you are a introvert person who likes to live in a quiet places, choose apartment, otherwise, dormitory is more suitable for extrovert people who likes to live in a busy an active places. Finally, if you like to live in apartment and use university facilities too, get an apartment that is very close to university.