A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Teachers role nowadays is an essential the student development and growth as an individual, so a teacher ability to be relatable with student is believed to be more important that the excellent delivery of knowledge toward the student. I personally believe that the knowledge gained by student is much more important that the relationship between the teacher and the class. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the main goal of teaching process is for the student to attain the necessary knowledge in order to develop as an individual. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When i was student in the second grade, i looked up to my teacher and considered her as my role model, therefore, i valued our relationship more than learning the subject. However, as i progressed in my class, i realized that i lacked a lot of important aspects regarding my subject. As a result, i did not perform well during my tests. For this reason focusing on the subject in the class in more crucial that for the teacher to relate with student.

Secondly, while I believe that establishing a connection with student is beneficial, the teacher can fuse the two aspects together to enhance the teaching process. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During my second year of high school, i had been experiencing difficulties with my math subject. But my good relation with my teacher started to positively effect my understanding of the subject. In other words, the ability for the teacher to relate with student should not be neglected, rather it can be used to help the teacher in many aspects.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, the class should always attain its main goal of passing the knowledge to students and the relationship could be used to enhance the teaching process.