Technology has made it easier for people to communicate with each other Some people prefer to talk over the phone while others prefer to communicate through text messages What type of communication do you prefer and why

Communication between two people who are distant from each other has become easier than ever with the creation of mobile phones. It is each user's preference whether to speak or type to the other person. In my opinion, voice call is the more robust way to communicate from afar. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, phone calls are closer to head to head talks than messages, which improves understanding between people. More specifically, only through voice can one feel the speaker's intonation and emotions, which are important information to know what each other is feeling. My personal example is a compelling example of this. Last year, I was texting with my teacher about my scores at school since we could not meet during the pandemic. When she told me how bad my performance was, I though she was just exaggerating it, as she usually do and did not take it too seriously. It turns out I was actually in trouble and it brought me a lot of hassle to make up for the low scores. If I had talked to her, I would have understood that she was being sober about my problems and prevented miscommunication.

On top of that, it is much faster to speak through the phone as opposed to messaging. What I mean is that, talking in real time is the quickest way to communicate, since it does not require typing at all. It can be extremely time wasting and even frustrating to text with someone who type slowly. Drawing from my own experience, this problem most often happen with the elderly. When my grandfather first learned to use a phone, I had to wait a very long time for his reply if I wanted to tell him something through messages. As a result, now I call him if I wanted to tell him something even if there is not that much to say. Phone calls clearly helped me save a lot of time with my grandfather.

In conclusion, I believe that calling is more convenient than texting when it comes to communicating at different locations. This is because it greatly reduces the odds of misunderstanding and is more time-efficient.