Technology has made it easier for people to communicate with each other Some people prefer to talk over the phone while others prefer to communicate through text messages What type of communication do you prefer and why

With the advancements in technology in our society, people can use many different ways to communicate with each other. In this case, some people like to talk on the phone, while others prefer texting over calling. I favor texting over calling for these reasons: I am able to double-check what I am saying, and I can communicate with others at my own pace.

First, it is easier to communicate with people living in different time zones through text messages. This is because, unlike calling, texting does not need to be done at the same time. This feature can benefit both multinational organizations and individuals as companies can communicate with branches in different countries, while individuals can maintain a bond with their loved ones. My personal experience is an example of this. When my sister had to move to the US for her studies, we were all very sad and worried about her. Due to this, our family made it a habit to call her every day and make sure she was okay. However, we had to call her in the middle of the night due to the time difference, which was very exhausting for my parents. After a week of communicating this way, my sister suggested that we should just text her instead of calling. This made it very easy for us to communicate as we would leave her a message when we were free, and she would reply when she woke up.

Furthermore, one is able to be more time-efficient by communicating through text messages. Since a phone call is real-time and communication has to be done at the same time, one has to focus only on the phone call and therefore are not able to do any other things. On the other hand, one is able to perform other tasks while communicating at the same, since it is not real-time, and there is a time gap between sending texts and the other person replying. Therefore, it is possible to do something else aside from communicating with that person. For example, I am usually busy with assignments and studying all the time. However, this does not stop me from talking to my friends since I am able to text them during study breaks without the burden of focusing my entire attention on the conversation.

In conclusion, I believe that texting is more convenient than calling because when texting, the possibility of miscommunication is greatly decreased, and it is possible to communicate at your own pace.