television and movies have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behaviors, do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the concept of the television’s effect on young people has been brought to public attention. Some people believe that television has a bad impact on kids; however, there is a substantial body of evidence that casts doubt in this belief. From a personal perspective, the former point of view carries more weight, given that television can affect children’s health, behaviors, and grades in negative way. Below I will strive my supporting points in more detail.

The first and foremost point, since television has a variety of violence movies and terrifying media, which are not suitable for kids; to that end, they could negatively affect their behaviors. A recent survey that conducted by the American Academy of pediatrics found that watching media violence can contribute in aggressive behaviors, desensitization to violence, nightmares, and fear of being harmed. Moreover, children grew up watching TV every day are more likely to commit acts of violence than those who watched less. In addition to that, watching violence media not only can affect willingness to help other in need, but also, empathy toward others. Consequently, TV ha a bad effect on kids’ behaviors.

Next, coupled with bad behaviors, low grade is another drawback of TV watching. For instance, developed countries, such as Canada, and The United States has media technology that offers more ways to access TV content, such as on the internet, cell phones and iPods; which leads to an increase in time spend viewing TV. Provided that children spend long time in front of TV, it could negatively affect their brain function and performance in schools. Furthermore, TV can discourage children to read. Given that reading requires much more thinking than television, it fosters young people’s healthy brain. Therefore, television has bad influence on children’s mental well-being.

Ultimately, even though so many voices claim that TV can be entertaining, educational, and can open up a new world for kids to gain exposure to ideas they may never encounter in their own community, I think that TV drawbacks are outweigh its benefits. Television can contribute in sleep problem, and obesity, A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above is, plenty of junk food companies such as McDonalds, Burger King ,and Pizza Hut target kids in their advertisements on TV, which has a direct impact on children’s nutritional intake. Provided that children routinely exposed to certain types of foods, it will add onto children’s weight and could eventually lead to obesity. In addition to that, television increases sedentary lifestyle, given that spending time watching TV can take time away from healthy activity, such as participating in sports, music, arts or other activities that require practice to become skillful. As a result, television has significant drawbacks on children’s health.

Taking everything into consideration; without a doubt, television and movies have more negative effect than positive effects on young people’s behaviors. It is suggested that parents limit kids’ screen time to 1-2 hours daily.