There are two companies, which are both willing to offer you a job with the same rate of pay.

One offers interesting and challenging projects but gives almost no vacation days, and the job of another company does not seem like interesting or challenging but with more vacation days.

Which one do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The rapid development of modern technologies allows people to enjoy a vast amount of career opportunities, which carries along with it more comparison between jobs. Salaries being the same, there exist two popular types including more challenging ones with nearly no holidays and those with more vacations but less exciting tasks. Different from some people who favor the latter, I definitely argue that a more demanding job should be recommended even with almost no vacation days.

To begin with, doing a challenging job, people could better catch up with trends of the time. In order to successfully tackle the tasks, one has to search for numerous resources, including at least similar projects before and the latest reports about future trends. Furthermore, these jobs require higher standards for the most up-to-date skills, which will push workers to make efforts to update themselves so as not to be eliminated by the modern society. Also, more opportunities of making new acquaintances will be accessible to people, because hardly can such jobs be done by a single person, instead, people need much advice especially from peers who know more about updated information. For example, once our company assigned a task, asking us to figure out a way within seven days to rouse the locals' awareness of environmental protection. The minute we accepted the challenge, we went online to randomly search for any similar projects, the most impressive one being two girls from Bali who talked repeatedly with local officials and finally got the permission to distribute flyers regarding eco-balance. Plus, in order to achieve a better visual effect of our presentation, we learned how to design the content on Prezi, a current popular software. Also, many celebrities in this field became our backup, especially Dr. Wang and Prof. Wu. From their posts, we knew that Starbucks would replace all straws with newly-designed lids to help reduce the number of plastic wastes. All these endeavors contributed to our grasp of the latest situation of environmental protection.

Besides, an interesting and challenging job is conducive to keeping a positive attitude towards life. The problem-solving process, together with sparkling ideas during discussion,reinforces people's self-confidence, letting them realize there is always room for improvement and everyone has his or her own merits. Moreover, people will become better motivated to step out of their comfort zone for the pursue of higher standards in that no one wants to be looked down upon by colleagues. Some may argue that more vacation days bring more positive emotion on account of full relaxation and entertainment. Nonetheless, too much leisure and lack of efforts for a higher aim will finally lead people to question their self-worth. If so, how could they become positive in the long run? Here is another case to illustrate my point. Both earning around 6,000 RMB per month, my uncle and my father work in a transnational company and a nation-owned institution respectively. Each day, my uncle needs to meet with clients,convene meetings to sign contracts, and handle complaints from customers. He even doesn't have time to go to the restroom sometimes, but you can often hear his laughter during work. According to his own description, he is never the introverted man he used to be due to endless discussions and phone calls. His quick decision making and acute insight earn him high reputation in the company. Different from my uncle, my father's major work could be finished in the morning, including collecting forms, reporting work to the superior, and delivering new orders when necessary. He usually spends the whole afternoon reading newspapers and chatting with colleagues, which easily becomes boring and leads him to question the value of himself.

Admittedly, a less challenging job with more holidays allows enough rest time, which seems to ensure people a sound physical foundation. However, it is often not the case, because most modern people often keep a sedentary lifestyle and their eyes are mostly fixed on their smart phones' small screens. This habit will easily make us tired and have caused various new modern diseases. In contrast, busy with their challenging tasks, people will indeed exercise more, such as commuting between different places. Even if some have less sleeping time at night, this problem could easily be fixed. They could better manage working time in the day and take some online classes about time management, which is of great popularity at present.

To sum up, it is a better choice for people to choose an interesting and challenging job with almost no vacation days. For one thing, they could update themselves more frequently so as to keep up with the times. For another, people will become emotionally more positive when staying with such tasks.