There are two companies which are both willing to offer you a job with the same rate of pay One offers interesting and challenging projects but gives almost no vacation days and the job of another company does not seem like interesting or challenging bu

In the past several decades, the world has gone through massive changes on both a societal and an individual level. Nowadays, more and more people face dilemmas in job choice. The debate over whether people should choose a high-paid job with little free time or a relatively low-paid job with more free time is still fierce. Some may assert that choosing a job with more free time means people can spend more time with their family and friends. However, I hold this view differently. People should select a high-paid job with relatively little free time.

To begin with, a high-salary job allows people to sharpen their abilities. As in common sense, people who have high salaries always mean they have more responsibilities at the same time. They bear huge expectations from their superiors and extensive competition among their colleagues. As an old saying goes, “No cross, no crown.” All of this pressure strains their nerves and, meanwhile, pushes them toward. They are more urgent to improve themselves and acquire new knowledge in order to stand out from the crowd. On the other hand, people who choose a job with low rewards lead a comfortable life. Less competition dampens their enthusiasm for their job and hinders them from further improvement.

Admittedly, more free time gives people time flexibility. Having more time at their disposal means they can have a better work-time balance and less stress, bringing them a more peaceful life. Nevertheless, having much more free time does not necessarily mean more happiness. A high-paid job enables people to reach financial freedom; they can easily plan a trip with their whole family without any financial concerns or go to the best restaurant in town with their friends and enjoy a wonderful meal. Furthermore, being wealthy provides people with an excellent opportunity to mingle with more talented people; making friends with them is exciting and refreshing, which can also expand their social circle.

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to choose a high-paid job with relatively less free time for the reasons discussed above.