These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in school-related activities or sports. However, they should be given more time to do whatever they want.

Children, one of the disadvantaged groups, are supposed to be supervised all the time because they are lack of the ability to distinguish right from wrong. Thus, most parents tend to hold the idea that children should allocate more time to their school assignments, including coursework and activities related to school, instead of their preferences. From my perspective, this view is true.

To begin with, spending plenty of time on finishing homework can help children entrench what they have learnt from the daily class. There is no denying that the homework assigned by the teachers is usually to test how much the students have perceived, for example, how many formulas of maths or physics they have memorized. Once they can be up to this task, they may feel more confident in the next learning stage, ending up performing better in all the educational procedures, which are deliberately divided into several grades for them to experience. Meanwhile, if they bump up against difficulty in accomplishing their assignments, they may have more time to rescue this situation through several effective measures, such as reviewing the notes they have taken, or asking their friends, parents, or even their teachers for help. Under this circumstance, chances are that they may not lag behind in their teachers’ teaching syllabus.

Let us imagine that students devote themselves to the pursuit of what they want after school. Not only can they fail to summarize how much they have obtained from the teachers, which can be harmful to their learning,but also they may forget what they actually have mastered in class while they are developing their interest after they finish their daily schooling.

Besides, children are more likely to be misled by their favorite after-class activities. According to psychologists, children aged 3 to 18 lack the ability to tell right from wrong and also are vulnerable to adverse influences. If they are allowed to decide what they should do on their own, it is possible that they are prone to behaving badly. For example, modern children are addicted to online games, where there are full of violent and pornographic contents. If they are not controlled by the school-oriented games in their spare time, it is likely that they may commit crimes after being exposed to this unhealthy information. Plenty of juvenile delinquencies arise in this way recently.

To conclude, as children cannot understand clearly what they are doing, they are not permitted to do the things they want in their leisure time. Even if they can cultivate their interests in their spare time through their favorites, they should be under their custodians’ supervision—under the control of their teachers.