Topic: People in communities can make decisions that protect and improve the natural environment. Which ONE of the following three actions is MOST useful for people to do if they want to help the environment in their local community? Why?

--Plant trees and create parks

--Persuade local shops to stop providing plastic bags to customers

--Increase access to public transportation ( for example, buses or trains) to reduce the number of automobiles on local roads.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Speaking of the most useful technique to improve the local environment, I would like to stand for making access to public transportation easier. Even though some might support planting trees and creating parks or preventing local shops from providing plastic bags to customers, I find a couple of shortcomings for these two options.

First of all, to plant trees or to create parks is a more long-term plan which cannot be effective instantly. It takes time for trees to grow, making it a less attractive choice if we would like to see a quick change. Moreover, nowadays, cities are occupied by buildings and roads, leaving limited space for trees or parks. Our school did an investigation on the potential location for growing more greens in the community, and the idea turned out to be unrealistic due to little room remaining for plants around us.

Furthermore, on one side, the number of local shops are such an astonishing figure, which requires us to invest too much efforts and time. On the other side, it is literally difficult to make sure all shops on the list, or at least a majority of them, to agree that they will stop offering plastic bags. The reasons for them to refuse the proposal are obvious, as plastic bags are cheaper and they provide convenience to shoppers.

Lastly, let's talk about the favoured idea here, to reduce the number of automobiles on local roads by increasing access to public transportation. It has an immediate impact on the environment, if implemented, with less gas released due to the declined usage of automobiles. It is not that hard to deploy as it sounds, for the fact that only two reasonable moves are in demand to accomplish the plan. Foremost, we can encourage the local government to reduce the price for taking buses or trains, or to offer discounts for those who take public transportations more frequently. It is just a matter of negotiation, which is easy, as long as a myriad of citizens ask for that. Additionally, we can reorganize the routes of buses to assure that more locals have easier access to use them. Only a few new bus stations need to be settled, which is a short-term effort.

To conclude, it is compelling that we should consider making public transportatione available to te commun