Many people want to protect and improve the natural environment. Which ONE of the following three actions is MOST useful for individuals to do in their daily lives if they want to help the environment? Why?

-Walking or bicycling instead of driving a car to work or school

-Recycling and reusing objects instead of throwing them in the trash (rubbish) can

-Buying locally grown, organic foods (grown without pesticides)

Nowadays, our society suffers from serious environmental problems: high concentration of carbon dioxide in the air gives a rise to global warming, threatening the life in the polar regions; factors directly pull polluted material into river or lakes, which poses a threat to life living in river or lakes; deforestation harms the whole ecosystem, making less room for animals that is reliant on the trees to reproduce to survive. Thus, as a part of the nature, human being should at least take some measures to improve natural environment. From my perspective, getting objects recycled and reused rather than throwing them into rubbish can directly is effective to protect our nature.

First, walking or riding to company won’t solve out the problem fundamentally. Granted, cars can emit carbon dioxide into air, which might increase the concentration of it in the air and thus result in global warming. However, cars just cover a little portion of carbon dioxide in the air. It is the factories which is located in the remote area that produce a large amount of carbon dioxide and release it into air. In this case, walking or riding does decrease the emission of carbon dioxide in the cities, but in the long run, we would still witness an elevation in the carbon dioxide in the air because never will factories stop discharging carbon dioxide.

Second, purchasing the locally grown or organic foods won’t be helpful. It’s admitted that if consumers purchase organic foods growing in local areas, farmers would tend to farm those foods without applying pesticides on them, which might decrease the side effects caused by pesticides. But there are still other areas where farmers still plant crops with pesticides. Under this circumstance, this solution can only protect the endemic environment rather than the whole environment.

Compared with the former two options, planning to recycle or reuse those thrown objects is viable and effective. As a matter of fact, sometimes those thrown rubbish can be especially detrimental for the ecosystem. To be more specific, items involving radiated materials can threaten the survival of wildlife. If those items are abandoned in the wild, it might result in the deaths of a large number of animals in the surrounding environment, including plants, animals, microorganisms and so on. What’s more, recycling and reusing not only won’t take people’s much time or labor but also might benefit their own life. For example, people can reuse plastic bag so that they do not have to buy a new one in the grocery store; people can recycle used electrical device to transform it into a brand new one so that they do not need to invest much on the updated one. In this way, our environment would not suffer from serious pollution and people’s daily life can be improved.

In conclusion, people should participate in the process of recycling and reusing used items, which might exert a far-reaching influence on improving environment.