TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Engaging some form of regular physical activity leads to improvement in health and general well being,on being said that physical exercises both aerobic or anaerobic requires great deal of vigor and active participation. I am of the opinion that engaging in some form of sports activity is equally imperative and it also goes a long way in maintaing health in an eclectic way.This essay will discuss my stance towards providing greater emphasis on co-curricular activities.

Contrary to the belief that excelling in a specific subject area of study is of a greater importance than emrolling in some form of sports activity or social events, evidence shows that engaging in regular physical activity and participating in social workshops helps in improving motivation, providing them with some sort of recreation, increasing their attention spans, enhancing concentration and building up overall characteristics.Some administrators believe that university is a symbol of learning and teaching. So, the money should not be spent on trivial activities which is not related to education. On the other hand, some others think that even sports and social activities are related to education and can determine future success. As it is said that body and mind are strongly interconnected,it would only be wise to believe that both are dependent on one another as the saying goes sound mind equals a sound Body. Furthermore a large number of Psychologist also have confirmed that depressed patients do not participate in any form of social activity or recreartion beacause of low energy levels, poor motivation and a great deal of inertia.

Secondly engaging in any sport activity allow one to channelize their unpleasant emotions through a process known as emotional catharsis, as it can release the residual anxiety and stress. Catharsis essentially refers to a release or discharge or cleansing of emotions, generally with the purpose of relieving the stress that develops from holding these emotions within the individual. To begin with, sports is considered one of the important ways to deal with stress. When students are in university, they have different types of worries related to their studies, personal lives and future plans. In this situation, when they spend some time playing games, they feel relaxed.

Thirdly social activities play an important role in students' lives. When they attend these events, they get chance to meet new people, and it helps them to develop social skills. These skills would be useful to them in their future. For example, one of my friends was very shy talking to other people when he was in high school. Nevertheless, when he attended university, he got chance to attend annual functions and other social events. This helped him to build up his confidence level. Then, he started taking part in annual functions and events. Now, he can talk to people so friendly and naturally that is possible only because he attended these social activities. Thus, social gathering and events help students to develop skills, which would help them in many fields. Last but not least, when a university provides good sports and social events, students prefer to go to study in these university. For university, it is necessary to have these facilities with libraries and classes to be considered as the most elite university. If a university does not provide same financial support for sports and social activities, it would show that it does not believe in diverse qualities a students should have. That is only possible when a students play sports and participate in social events while studying. Therefore, it is important for a university to support both of these things equally.

To sum it up, even though some people do not think that sports and social activities should get the same financial support as libraries and classes, I definately disagree with them because sports is crucial for students' health, a social event is necessary for students' confidence for social skills, and each of these is necessary for universities to increase diversity among students.