TPO 02: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every relationship, no matter what kind it is, should have specific characteristics. Nevertheless, there is some controversy about whether always telling the truth should be one of them. As far as I'm concerned, there is no harm in hiding some truth.

First of all, since truth can hurt people's feelings, it is more beneficial if avoided sometimes. We, human begins, are such simple-minded creatures. Most of the time, we ask questions to be praised. We don't want authenticity. For instance, whenever my wife asks me whether she is overweight or not, I always tell her what she wants to hear. This way, It could strengthen our family bond with an indeed nominal price.

Secondly, being honest all the time causes a great deal of stress. If we tell unpleasant truth, we may spend days thinking about the consequences of our deed. It might also jeopardize the relationship. As an example, last month, when my colleague asked me if she was looking good. I simply told him the truth. Though she didn't give me any negative feedback, I could see on her face that she was feeling blue. I spend days thinking about how I ruined his mood. It gave me tremendous stress. Had I told her an insignificant lie, she would feel a lot better.

Moreover, telling little lies can often motivate people we care about to excel. Humans are very competitive and want to be the best at whatever task they've been assigned. Whether it is taking a test at university or trying to gain weight, they would achieve impressive results if they are praised enough. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, when my brother was struggling to compete in a marathon, he asked me for my opinion. Had I told him what I really thought, he would have given up completely. But, I said to him that I see in him the potential to be in the top 10 percent. He didn't succeed as I expected. However, this game gave him the opportunity to accept that there are thousands of things that he can't and shouldn't do. Instead, he understood that his focus should be on more mental activities such as teaching.

In summary, I feel that being not very ethical, from time to time, can be helpful for every human being. It is because lies can motivate people to perform better and because being honest can hurt people's emotions.