TPO 03 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Friends are a very important part of our life as they have a lot of influences in our life. Some people believe that it is more important to make new friends than to keep old friends because we cannot always be connected to our old friends. In new places, we have to make new friends. However, in my opinion, I believe that it is better to keep old friends than to make new friends for the following three reasons.

First of all, friends with whom we have been together for a long time are the most important people in our life. For example, our childhood friends sometimes become a part of our own family. The relationship between my childhood friends is stronger than any other friend of my life. So would do anything to keep them in my life forever. In contrast, making new friends every now and then does not make strong bonding of friendship. This is why I would give more importance to keeping old friends rather than making new ones.

Second of all, friends who have been with us before will be with us in the future too and we trust them with our hearts. They will come to help us no matter what and I would do the same for them too. These do not really happen with new friendships. From my personal experience, I have faced so many problems in my life and my childhood friend Samina was always the one with whom I shared all my problems. She was always there for me even on the nights before our exams when I was crying for my dead pet "Piku". She is still on my first contact list and even though we don't live in the same city now, we video call each other every weekend. But I don't have that much contact or meetups with my college friends or university friends.

Finally, as an introverted person, making new friends is very much difficult for me. I am not an outgoing or talkative person. Also, I don't enjoy social events that much, and I barely attend any events without my friends. I find it very much troublesome in meeting new people and making new friends. And when it comes to finding people with the same mentality is harder than anything.

In conclusion, I believe friends make our lives easier and we need our friends every day of our life. To me, it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends for these reasons mentioned above.