TPO 07 independent

it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Whether pupils ought to digest their majors' concepts or understand the facts has been a matter of argumentation among scholars for a long time. On one hand, some people accept that students must study conceptually since it is more beneficial for them. On the other hand, others assume that they should study the facts owing to the fact that it is more necessary for their future carriers. Personally, I concur with the former idea inspite of the fact that the latter one is more appealing and has more aficionados. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twoflod. In the following, the rationale behind my choice will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost explanation which is worth mentioning is that students can develop their own ideas and improve their critical-thinking skills by merely understanding the concept of their studies. Researchers of RMIT, a well-known university in Australia, conducted a survey of gradutaed students in Melbourne universities among whom they disseminated a questionnaire and realized that there is a direct exponential relation between their level of critical-thinking and their ability of understanding the concepts; in other words, the more they tried to learn the concepts, the more critical-thinking skills they have. To put it into a more vivid picture, my cousin who is graduated from Melbourne University had a supervisor who always encouraged him to leave the facts and try to learn the concepts; therefore, today, my cousin is a great entrepreneur who is acknowledged for his great brainstorming skills in his business. Conversely, my brother usually wanted to understand the facts, so he is unable to improvies ideas even though he is good at recalling scientific principals, but this ability is not enough and accepted in today's competitive world.

The second and equally far-reaching justification is that with this mindset students can easily distinguish between profitable and useless presuptions in their real lives. When individuals focuse on the facts, they will no longer need to challenge themsleves by understanding the facts, so they can spend more time on the improvement of their ideas. For instance, my coworker always told me to try new things even if I am not fully competent it that. he usually claimed that he knew every software related to civil engineering even though he was not completely skilled in it because he belieced that as he knows the concept of engineering, learning the instructions of a software will not hinder him from doing his tasks. In contrast, I always thought that I have to know all of the facts of a major in order to work properly.

In coclusion, taking all of the abovementioned rationalizations into account, I agree with the idea of understanding the concepts, rather than wasting my time on learning the facts. Stills, as this concept has mutually exclusive hypotheses, neither my personal opinion must be accpeted globally, nor do others must feel sad if my assuption is not aligned with their.