TPO 12: Do you Agree/Disagree.

It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, the world is changing so rapidly. The technology and science are not excluded from this quick alteration and are experiencing some real improvements. Having this in mind, some believe that because of the insufficiency of one’s time, it is better to specialize only in one subject. Others, on the other hand, are inclined towards having knowledge about various fields of study. In my perspective, the latter attitude seems more acceptable for some reasons.

First, having knowledge of different fields results in more job opportunities. Today, companies tend to hire employees who are familiar with a variety of subjects. For example, an electrical engineer with a deep understanding of his or her major, that is the theories and relations, is less likely to find a job comparing to an engineer who has a sufficient skill in computers as well as his or her university major. A teacher, as another example, will have more choices if he or she has a basic knowledge of psychologic issues besides the teaching-related standards. Thus, broad knowledge affects an important part of one’s life, in a positive way.

Second, the more various one’s knowledge is, the more working efficiency one develops. Generally, different issues are not totally separated. Indeed, there are some rules connecting them to each other. Considering a heart specialist as an example; if he or she knows that there is a relation between psychologic issues, like mental problems, and a heart disease, the process of treatment will become faster. A graduate in sports science who currently plays tennis can be mentioned as another example. If he or she has information about humans’ behavior, which is, in fact, a university field of study, the possibility of predicting the opponent’s moves in a tennis match will be increased.

Third, diverse information helps one to find the field in which one is more interested. A broad knowledge will be helpful because one can choose among a number of options and focus on the choice which fits one the best. A good example of this, are some engineers who have been forced to choose their current major and they are now regretting. There are a lot of them who change their majors to law-related fields of study after becoming familiar with law concepts. Therefore, the vaster the knowledge, the more satisfying one’s life.

To sum up, I believe that having a broad knowledge of a variety of academic subjects has benefits which carry more weight compared to the alternative idea. As it was mentioned above, there are advantages concerning one’s job opportunities and work efficiency. It has also merits for those who want to find their real interest. After all, accepting the increasing pace of the world, it seems to me a better option to try reaching the world instead of giving up!