TPO 12: Do you Agree/Disagree.It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, the world is changing rapidly, and a person needs to cop with change. Having this in mind, some individuals believe that it is better to be specialized in one subject than being familiar in different topic. On the other hand, others argue that being familiar with variety of subjects may help them more. In my opinion, being familiar with multiple topic create better job opportunities, improve understanding of ones job, and makes the person choose other careers in their lives.

First and foremost, having knowledge in different topic creates an opportunities to get jobs. Today, companies are looking for individuals who study more than one major. For instance, a pharmacist or who has another major in business administration can be competitive to get a job in a pharmaceutical company than a a person who is only familiar with drugs. Similarly, a teacher who has has a major in a psychology and teaches math has an edge over a teacher who has knowledge only in math because a teacher with psychology background is more able to deal with difficult students. Thus, companies would rather give the job to a person who has a broader knowledge.

Second, being familiar with different topic enables a person to thrive in his career. he broader the knowledge of a person, the more he or she can solve problems. For instance, a cardiologist with neurology background can treat patients suffering from heart problems and complain of pain in their limbs. At the end this doctor is better able to diagnose his patient and give the proper treatment. At the same time, a tennis player who has a background in psychology, can understand the behavior of his opponent and win the game. Therefore, having knowledge in different fields makes a person capable of dealing with difficult situations and be successful.

Finally, learning different topics enables a person to change his major if he is not satisfied with it. Many people learn a major not because they like it, but because their parents asked to do it. Thus, at some point in life , if they decide to change their occupation they can do so easily. For example, an engineer who does not like construction, and felt more a passion towards medicine,and or she have medical background can easily study medicine and be a doctor. Therefore, having knowledge in different fields can create opportunities for people to be what they really want to be.

In conclusion, people are always learning as long as they are alive. Therefore, having a broader knowledge offers more jobs, and enable a person to thrive in his career. Moreover, if a person is not satisfied with what he is doing, there is always a possibility to seek other opportunities.