TPO 17 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisement is important part of our lives. It guides individuals with different choices of products, goods like food, toiletries, make up, electronics. Some people believe that advertisement make products seems better than they really are. In my humble opinion, I believe that advertisers misleads consumers to the real quality of their products. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, advertisements are widespread it can be seen everywhere from tv commercial, magazines, billboards and leaflets. It has major influence on the buying public, seeing the purpose and advantages of certain products compared to others can lead consumers choosing which advert are most convincing. Some commercial are misleading and has the main purpose of selling their product at whatever cost, like hiring a famous celebrity to endorse their product. For instance, our famous actor in the Philippines has advert on detergent soap. He says that it is the best in the market and it is affordable. As a consumer who idolizes that actor I immediately bought the product without thinking, upon using it I noticed that the soap is of bad quality and our clothes don't smell good after washing. I was dismayed because I was easily influenced by someone to purchase a product without knowing whether that product is okay or not. To sum, advert will always make their product good in the eyes of the consumers.

Secondly, commercial ads are very pleasing on the eyes, products they are selling always looks good. The main purpose of ads in the TV is to make huge sales, they will fund the commercial in a sense that their products are of top of the line. For instance, I always see commercial of energy drink in TV and I became curious if that drink will boost my energy. I used the product and it worked I became more energized at work and productive. I didn't read the label in the packaging thinking that it has positive effect on my health. I consume four bottles a day for almost a month and I enjoyed drinking it because it taste good. Hence, it has a bad effect on my health I had dizziness and palpitations at work, my doctor told me it was because of my energy drink. I was attracted to the advertisement that it will give you extra strength and focus on work, but I was not aware that I can become sick just by patronizing the product. Adverts will not include in their ads the negative effect of their products to their consumers, what they are after are just sales.

To summarize, I believe that adverts can easily mislead consumers in their products that it is the best product. It is because adverts tactics are to encourage consumers to purchase their products even it is not the best product.