TPO 19- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Information is very important part of our lives. It is vital in every human being because they will be updated in latest news and updates with what's happening around the world. Some people believe that in order to be well informed, a person must get information from different news sources. In my humble opinion, I agree that it is better to have different news resources. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, gaining information to news are very easy nowadays compared to the past that news media platforms are not yet available. We are fortunate that technology are continuing evolving to service the people better with means of getting and processing information on the internet. People are equipped with choices which data or sources to read and study. Individuals has the capability to absorb all the information available with different resources like news media, internet websites such as CNN, BBC, Bloomberg, which are informative sites which can help us be aware of current news in the world. For instance, when I need information about other countries I just browse my mobile phone and open CNN website and BBC news. I get updated easily and there are mobile notification with the trending news online. I read an article in CNN that the president in Brazil is open for open logging in the Amazon forest, and it is very devastating to know that a person has the capability to make such a destruction to the ecosystem. This news made me realize how important the wildlife is for every human being and we must take care of our environment. To sum up, having the chance to get information from different sources are informative and you can acquire deep knowledge in that topic matter.

Secondly, the only negative consequences I see with too many resources available are information overload, not reliable data and fake news. But people are aware of such fake news circulating around the web and they can easily spot if this website are not to be trusted. All in all, we cannot say that the negative consequences out weights the positive outcome. For example, there is fake news circulating the internet about our Mayor in Paranaque City being assassinated in the City hall when this news spread our Mayor immediately released a news regarding his current status that he was fine and not harmed. People panic at a short period of time but quickly realized that the news may not be true because there are no update regarding the assassination. As a result, citizens are now more vigilant with what they read and hear on the news.

To summarize, I believe that gaining information from different sources will make the individual be well informed. This is because they will become more aware and knowledgeable.