TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone in this world wants to be well informed and updated as to what is happening around him/her. But is it fine to be dependent on just one source of information or one should get information from many different news sources such as news paper, TV, internet etc? Well some people think that it is OK to get information from one source as it is convenient and easy. However, I do not concur with this notion for the following reasons.

To begin with, not all sources of information are reliable. In today’s modern world, life is very tough as there is a lot of competition all around and media is no exception to it. There are many news scamps that have been reported recently which compels me to reconsider if I can believe on one particular media. I can say this strongly because I have experienced it; one of my friends is a news reporter and he was suppose to cover a famous businessman of our city. I happened to accompany him during his interview, he asked him many questions and some of them were quite controversial but later when he aired that interview, I noticed that he had edited it and removed all the important details that was crucial for the general public to know. Hence, I realized how all the news channels fabricate the news that we think is true but in reality what we see is incomplete truth.

Moreover, it is not at all feasible to rely on one resource. To elaborate this point I would like to point out that today most of the people are working and have busy schedule in which it is intricate to sit and watch TV at home. So, people who like to watch news on TV will be deprived of getting information if they are at work or if they are travelling for example I am a stoke broker and it is extremely important for me to keep updating myself about the share market. I went to Mount Abu last summer and I was staying at a place where there was no one to provide news paper. Also, there was no facility of TV but thanks to the technology, I had the facility of internet in my mobile phone, I was able to get news of the entire world. This made me feel the significance of internet and saved me from the potential loses.

To recapitulate, I would like to mention that though we all prefer some or the other media to get knowledge about various things in the world but we all should be flexible enough to accept valuable information from any source as I have made it explicit from the aforementioned examples that one can never predict a situation.