TPO 26: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parent's jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parent's jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ever since the dawn of civilization, youth are craving to achieve a bright and prosperous future by choosing a promising career. Whereas some people advocate that children should have a different job from their parents' jobs, others disagree. Honestly, I believe that children should follow in the footsteps of their parents when choosing a career. I feel that way for two compelling reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, choosing the same career as parents paves a more convenient way to success for children. To be more specific, children who share the same occupation can inherit their parents' experiences to save them much time and energy along their career path. For example, my father-in-law is one of the most renowned brain surgeons in Egypt, and my husband also has chosen to be a brain surgeon. That choice helped my husband tremendously because his father gave him all his cumulative knowledge, trial, errors, and experience. As a result, he was well-prepared for that career. Not to mention that my father-in-law provided my husband also with a shortcut to success by leaving him a well-run and famous hospital. Therefore, we live a wealthy life. If my husband had chosen a different career from his father, we would never have lived that rich lifestyle that we have now.

Secondly, another remarkable potential benefit of having the same parents' job is the higher likelihood of strengthening a parent-child bond. I mean, nowadays, in the fast-paced modernized world, everybody is quite busy with his work, trying to achieve as much as he can to improve in his field, which leaves no spare time for family connectivity. Furthermore, generation gaps increase due to a lack of common topics that they converse about it. However, sharing the same career can undoubtedly support their relationship and bridge their generation gap. For instance, my mother and I both are pharmacists; my best and most enjoyable time is when I am with her. She is the first one I turn to when I need professional guidance; I feel I cannot trust or count on anyone but my mother to mentor and guide me. She came across my same challenges. Consequently, my mother became my best friend, and our relationship has never been better since I enrolled in pharmacy school and she was helping me in my studying and throughout my career path. As you can see, I like many others who share the same career with their parents, build strong bonds.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend that children choose to have the same career as their parents. Not only does it ensure a successful and convenient path for their jobs, but it also helps them to enhance their relationship with their parents.