TPO 27: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.

Our Jobs play a critically important role in our life. Indeed, it shapes our future, happiness, and satisfaction. Whereas some people opt for the idea of accepting a secure job rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying. I undoubtedly incline to choose an occupation of my dream.

I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, working in a job that we do not like and solely because it is secure would lead to a lifelong disappointment. To be more specific, when we do things we do not like, we will not be devoted to it, which will leave no room to improve to leave us with a miserable feeling. For instance, my cousin previously worked as a civil servant in a local government department. His primary job there was to draft the department director's speech and deal with repetitive paperwork. He always seemed depressed because he did not get promoted or achieved any personal improvement. Feeling that his job is monotonous, he quit. Eventually, he found his dream job in a multinational real estate corporation, and he is fully committed to fulfilling his career's various tasks. He acquires diverse experiences that qualified him to get promoted as a sales manager there; he feels a strong sense of self-accomplishment. Had not for his insistence to have the job that matches his preference, he would never have achieved his self-satisfaction.

Furthermore, people who prioritize a satisfying career gain more happiness due to a better financial situation than those who choose a secure job. For example, a long time ago, my husband and his best friend graduated from pharmacy school; they got an opportunity to work in a retail pharmacy with a modest salary; his friend accepted the job right away. However, my husband refused since it was not satisfactory for his ambition. Accordingly, he kept searching for a better chance till he found a golden opportunity in one of the most respectable pharmaceutical companies. Currently, my husband earns a substantial income with enormous privileges. We can travel abroad yearly. On the other hand, his friend is still working in the same retail pharmacy, with a humble standard of living, and cannot enjoy his life. As you can see, although money does not equal happiness, no one can deny that the power of wealth to enhance and make people's life more enjoyable.

In a nutshell, I believe that waiting for a perfect and satisfying job is much better than accepting a secure job. Not only because it gives us an unreplaceable feeling of self-accomplishment, but also it provides us with a financial position that enables us to have a more enjoyable and happy living.