TPO 26 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards how youngsters choose their career. In my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that children should learn a subject which is similar to that of their parents. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, children can make use of understanding and knowledge of their fathers or mothers in case they decide to choose the same background as their parents do. Teenagers are able to seek useful advice and instructions during their study at the university which may help them excel in their field of study. My own experience exemplifies this idea. I chose to learn petroleum engineering at the university like my father did. Therefore, I gained a lot of benefits from his knowledge during my study especially on complicated matters which then attributed to my excellent academic results.

Secondly, choosing jobs which are similar to parents´ job is a good way to enter labor market especially for fresh graduate students with little working experience as their parents can act as references in their profile. Besides, their fathers or mothers may have in hand valuable information about vacancies which are not posted in public. My friend´s experience is a compelling example. He studied biology at the university like his mother did. When he graduated, his mother informed him about a vacancy in her company which was not announced widely. Therefore, he could successfully apply for it without too much competition. This example shows how useful our parents are when you follow their career.

Last but not least, you are able to discuss with your parents about difficulties you may encounter during your work. Their experience accumulated in years is a wonderful source to help you deal with your problems.

In conclusion, I understand why some people want a job different from that of their fathers or mothers, but my view is that following the same career with your parents is more beneficial for young people. This because they can get a plenty of useful supports and recommendations.