TPO 26: It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs.

There has been a longstanding controversy as to whether or not children’s occupation should be closely tied up to what their parents have had themselves submitted in their lifetimes. The opinions are now polarized in regard of this hot topic. Many people tend to think there are many benefits to be gained from a similar employment background to their parents, while others render this idea as absurdity. From my own perspective, I believe picking a job that is similar to what our parents do for living might give additional advantages to children.

One of the most obvious benefit is that children will avoid detours given that their parents are very familiar with what are the obstacles and remindful of those potential challenges. Unlike those who have a fresh start on a bumpy road ahead, children, under the guidelines which could be unattainable for a while, will start with certain advantages to smooth their way out. For example, a surgeon who has done thousands of operations would not find anyone better than his own child if he is willing to give all of what he has learnt during his entire career. It is not hard to imagine that the effects will be maximized when he wants to greasing the wheels of his own child. However, the hypothesis has to be based on one premises that of which his children must be a doctor.

In sharp contrast, children whose job is entirely different to their parents ‘may faces lots of challenges without help from the people who are likely to be the most reachable, reliable and trustworthy. Parents are often failed to give out advices and incapable of understand what their kids are struggling for. In the long run, both parents and children are becoming alienated to each other as they have less and less in common.

To put everything in a nutshell, children with exacting jobs that shares no similarity to their parents’ are often for this reason having a less exacting future success compare to those whose jobs are almost as if inherited are seen as eggs in an incubator.