TPO-27 Integrated Writing

The little ice age was a period of unusually cold temperature in many parts of the world that lasted from about the year 1350 until 1900CE. There were southern harsh winters, and glaciers grew also in many areas. Scientist have long wondered what caused the Little Ice Age. Several possible causes have been proposed.

First, the cooling may have been caused by disrupting of ocean currents. Before the Little Ice Age, there was a period of unusually warm weather during which glaciers melted. These melted glaciers sent evidence amount of cold freshwater into the Gulf Stream, a large ocean current that strongly affects Earth's climate. Some scientists believe that this freshwater was enough to temporarily disrupt the Gulf Stream. Such a disruption could have caused the Little Ice Age.

Second, volcanic eruption could have caused the Little Ice Age. When volcanoes erupt, they send dark clouds of dust and sulfur gas into the atmosphere. These clouds, which can spread over great areas, block some sunlight from reaching Earth's surface. This can decrease the global temperatures. Scientists know of several volcanic eruption that took place during the Little Ice Age.

Third, substantial decreases in human populations may have contributed indirectly to the cooling of the climate. For a variety of reason(disease, warfare, social disruption), the human population just before the Little Ice Age and during the early part of it was lower than it had been in a long time. Forest trees started growing on fields that were no longer used for agriculture. Since trees absorb carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, they decrease the greenhouse effect that keeps Earth warm. With more forest trees carbon dioxide, earth became cooler.

The reading and the listening are about Little Ice Age specifically what the reasons were behind this. The author of the passage suggests three possible assumptions for this harsh winters age. However, the professor in the lecture avers that the writer's explanations were outdated and refutes all of them.

First of all, the writer mentions that ocean current was one of the reasons for that natural climatic condition. He also states that since the temperature was increased prior to the Ice Age, glaciers melted and produced huge freshwater and that break down gulf current which leading the formation of the Little ice age. The professor rebuts this point by implying shreds of evidence of southern part where no such glacier melt or gulf currents disrupted. He also informs that that gulf stream was not responsible for that Age.

Secondly, the author states that since volcanic eruptions produce a huge amount of dust and gas which create a sunlight block, the volcanic eruption may be the possible reason for that freezing season. However, the lecturer says that even though volcanic eruptions might be the reason of that Age, but the other consequences of eruptions were not documented by anyone. He also posits that if that occurred, the colorful sky would remain for a long time, yet such no evidence had found. So, volcanic activities were not the main reasons for that age.

In the third assumption, the writer claims that population declining because of many reasons before starting the ice age might create a condition for growing forest trees. He further implies that growing large plants may absorb carbon dioxide and reduce greenhouse effect, and that helps to start that age. The professor, however, refutes this point by saying that to produce such age, must need more time. But human population regained their position and population was increased; as a result, they cut all forest trees to crop for feeding themselves. So, humans were not the reason for little ice age.