TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

How to spend university’s salaries has always been a controversial issue among scholars. Although some university administration staff argue as if it is a general truth that spending salaries in developing the structures of a university is much more important than expanding the salaries of professors, I strongly believe that there is nothing more important than expanding professor’s salaries to improving the quality of education. Among countless reasons which can vindicate my viewpoint, I will pinpoint the two most conspicuous ones through following paragraphs.

The first point that juts out of mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this subject is the fact that, if a professor has enough budget he or she will more probable to conduct innovative research projects. Needless to say, investigating cutting-edge scientific projects need an adequate budget. A vivid example which can be given to shed light on elaborated subject is one of my own experiences. When I was a master student at the University of Tehran, my professor decided to investigate a fascinating project which was measuring earth gravity changes in Tehran. Many instruments such as relative gravimeter were needed in order to accomplish this project, but the university administration did not accept to fund this project.

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that when a professor is getting enough salary, he or she will work more motivated in university projects and will be more active in class. As a matter of fact, when a person is satisfied with his or her salary will be more tended to give full attention to his or her job. A noteworthy well-organized statistics which was revealed by a research conducted in two universities of Iran shows that the University of Tehran in which 89 percent of its professors acclaimed that they are getting a reasonable salary, is more productive in publishing high-rated papers in international journals.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are many reasons and examples which can be persuasive enough in order to agree with the idea that spending salaries university professors is prior to other issues. Some of them are mentioned above such as; having enough budget to conduct new researches and dedicating full attention to work. But that was a story in a nutshell. Obviously, there are many other examples and details, challenging the claim, which are not debated here. All in all, a given university administration staff should consider that the most important part of a university is the professors, so they deserve enough salary.