TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

Being a controversial issue, the choice between more workdays and longer working hours has aroused a great deal of attention during the past decades in the society. Some asserts that it’s preferable to have longer working hours every day and fewer workdays, while others just think the opposite. As for me, I side with the idea that it’s more acceptable to have a job when you work only three days a week for longer hours every day. Essential and persuasive evidence will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

There is no doubt that this kind of job can offer employees more free days to spend with their families. Of all the reasons leading to my point, this is the most rudimentary. Thanks to the tremendous pressure nowadays, citizens today can hardly spend enough time with parents, kids and spouses. Jobs of this kind can directly solve this problem by proving four days a week. A good case in point is that a father may drive with his family to a nearby state, where they can spend three days lying in the parks and having picnic. Another good case in point is that a son can spend several days looking after his parent who suffers from chronic diseases. Therefore, this kind of job renders it possible for workers and employees to have more freedom to schedule their own personal life.

Often neglected but no less significant, the fact that it can better the working efficiency is also worth mentioning. More specifically, if an employee works longer every day, he will spend more time proceeding the task than recapping what has been done yesterday. For example, there is a task which will take ten hours to finish, and normally, an employee spends eight hours every day in the office. Consequently, it’s very likely that he will use another two hours to recap what has been than in the past day before continuing working for what has been left yesterday. Besides, according to a recent survey conducted by BBC, a mainstream medium all over the world, companies with more working hours and shorter working days are likely to maintain a higher efficiency. In a word, this actually can act as a proper way to foster the efficiency.

However, I have to concede that there are some benefits that another kind of job can bring, more free time to relax every day, for example. But given that it’s actually a trade-off, I think the advantages of having a job which requires fewer working days obviously outweigh its disadvantages.

Simply put, it is fairly safe to draw the conclusion that a job with more working hours and fewer working days is a better choice, because it permits more short holidays, as well as fosters the working efficiency.