Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and idea about money in children. Others think the opposite. What’s your opinion?

Being a controversial issue, whether it is appropriate for parents to give children weekly money has aroused a great deal of attention during the past few decades in the society. Some hold the view that this will teach the children to over spend their money in the future, while others assert it to be important for their development. As for me, I side with the idea that it’s reasonable and beneficial for parents to give weekly money to their kids. Essential and persuasive evidence will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

Of all the reasons leading to my point, the most rudimentary one is that this method can encourage kids to be responsible for their decisions. For example, if the kid runs out of the money too fast, his parents can punish him by refusing to give him any money next month. Meanwhile, if the kid misuses the money to buy something bad, take pornography, the parents can teach the kid to spend the money only on what is needed and beneficial. These two examples represent how weekly money can help parents to educate their children, guide them to form the habit of being responsible for their own decision.

Besides, the fact that money can tell them basic knowledge about finance can also be applied to further explain why I think it is necessary for parents to give money to their sons or daughters. According to a recent survey conducted by BBC, a mainstream medium all over the world, those who have once received money when they were young perform better in mathematics and finance afterwards. As far as I am concerned, it is mainly because they have learnt to manage their money wisely and reasonably at a very young age, which naturally promises their intuitive understanding of economics and finance. Therefore, it is never a bad thing to provide them with small amount of money and train their numeral and financial capabilities.

Often neglected but no less important, the money also act a way of encouragement. A good case in point is that when a father wants his son to wash the car for him, he may encourage the kid by promising to offer him one dollar more than usual next week. Another good case in point is that when the daughter dislikes going to kindergarten, her mother can provide her with an extra 10-dollar-bill. These are very practical and effective way for parent to help children overcome the difficulties and develop necessary living skills.

Simply put, it is fairly safe to draw a conclusion that it is beneficial for parents to give weekly money to their kids, because it can equip their children with practical skills, as well as act as a effective way of encouragement.