TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every year, graduates are faced with the difficulty of deciding their careers or jobs among a wide variety of choices. Some claims that it’s now easier for job-seekers to step into a promising career since they can easily get access to the Internet, while others assert that identifying a future job has been increasingly difficult. As for me, I side with the opinion that in the past, identifying a secure, successful job or career is much easier than it is now. Essential and persuasive evidence will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

Of all the reasons leading to my point, the development of technology is the most rudimentary. To be specific, more and more advanced technology has created some brand-new careers not heard decades ago, as well as eliminated a series of jobs which were once considered promising. A case in point is that with AI and other high technology developing at an incredible speed, enterprises are in desperate need of programmers. Another case in point is the typist, which was regarded secure, for you could always find someone who need typing words into computers. Apparently, this job is going to disappear nowadays, because most of citizens now process a computer and have the capacity to type. We are now experiencing such great development in science, technology and society, as a result, it’s inevitably hard to identify which career will always guarantee a bright future.

Besides, the fierce competition nowadays can also be applied to further explain why it’s almost impossible to identify such a promising job or career. Go back to the example of China, an emerging economy in which citizens are suffering from great pressure. As is reported, the fierce competition in job market is driving many employees to be fired, as well as requiring candidates to have higher education levels. According to historic data, graduates from universities were able to find relatively decent jobs in the 1990’s, which is definitely not the case in the 21st century. Since a great number of jobs have already been substituted by technology, vacancies become fewer and fewer, and thus the competition goes even more fierce. As a result, since job-seekers are faced with higher requirements and more fierce competition, it’s no doubt that they can hardly find a job guarantees a secure and successful future.

I have to concede that the use of the Internet has made different kind of information more available, which can to some extent help those job-seekers before they make the final decision. But since we are undoubted in a world filled with competition and fast-changing technology, uncertainty leads to the vagueness when searching for a career to devote to.

Simply put, it’s fairly safe to draw the conclusion that it’s more difficult and less likely to determine a future career which can guarantee a successful and secure life.