TPO 33- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is important part of our lives. It is vital in every person, having good education means good future ahead of us. Some people believe that students learn more when they are assigned in groups, while other think it is better to work alone. In my humble opinion, I agree that students absorbs greater knowledge in doing projects and assignment with classmates. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

First of all, studying is very daunting task for students due to many subjects, exam and reports needs to done in logical and smart fashion. Meaning, in order to pass the subject pupil needs to focus their time and attention to in studying their curriculum. Students are able to learn more information when their are enjoying and having fun. However, studying alone or in solitude are boring to students and as a result they are not interested to study for their exam. For example, when I was in my sophomore year my professor assigned us to work with a partner for science project. I was hesitant at first because I am not used to doing projects with my classmate and I think that I will be difficult to work with her. On the other hand, I enjoyed our time creating our project together and learned a lot form her. And she motivated me to study more in my science subject because I have difficulty understanding the subject. I think if i work alone on the science project, it would just be a normal project for me and will not push hard to excel on making it.

Secondly, working together with other students are helpful in creating new friends. It would serve as a tool to get to know other students in class and bond with them after school hours. As a student who is very timid and shy in class, it is a good way to bridge communication barriers with other pupils. For example, when I was on fifth grade I was timid student and usually don't to people, I will only communicate with my classmates when they will start to initiate a conversation. Luckily, our teacher group us in four students and assigned us to report in class. While preparing for our report my classmates make stories and I was comfortable and at ease to them. We planned and studied our report together as a group and help each other out in researching and gathering data. When our time for reporting comes, I became more comfortable talking in front of class. If I would do my reporting alone I will be deeply terrified and anxious to speak of my class and will not properly do my reporting.

To summarize, I believe that it is more beneficial to assign students to groups rather than studying alone. This is because group work has positive effects on students such as they can learn more because they are enjoying studying and they can gain more friends.