TPO 39 - Independent taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to choosing a career, people want to choose the one that lead to a secure, successful future, which means the job offers good welfare and wealthy salary. Since the lack of power of individual, fewer choices of careers, unchanged society, it is easier to predict which job is better.

The power of individual is too small to make a different before, so it is hard to success without the help of government or big company. For example, the government would offer stable salary and day off to the employees, and the employees would also get enough money after they retire every month. Whereas, people don't have much resource to start up a business since the advertisement is expensive and not effective enough to appeal crowds of people. Therefore, the best career is to work in the government. However, with the advent of technology, people can simply make a video on the Internet to influence others all over the world. As the individual can change the world through the Internet, they no longer need the help of government to success. On the other hand, the government no long provide relatively high income and even cut the money that can get after they retire. It shows that working in the government is not the best option, and people have to seek other career that can success. Since people nowadays have much more influence, it is hard to guess what the best job would be.

There was not much freedom for people to choose their careers in the past, and only few careers could success under the control of the government. For example, the government would forbid people from opening their own company and becoming a politician to control them. As a result, the only option to success is to study hard to squeeze in the few promising fields. Nowadays, people; however, have lot more career choices due to the change of society. People have the freedom to do any kind of things to do a living, and every road lead to Rome. In the past, drawer can only gain few income and mostly are obscurities, but now they can sell the stickers that they made in communication app by themselves and put their paintings on the Internet to increase their population. Once they are popular on the Internet, they have more opportunities to have cases and become successful. Therefore, the changing is so quickly that it is difficult for people to tell which career would definitely success.

The occupations remain unchanged decades ago. Therefore, it is easy to know which occupation has the most promising future. Nevertheless, the careers change a lot now. For example, people can show their special skills to others or produce videos that depicts their everyday life with their lovely pets. They can do whatever things to earn more money than the career that was thought to make a fortunate in the past. Although there are much more opportunities nowadays, no one can ensure which job must success. The boundary between good occupation and poor occupation is obscure now.

People gain more inferences and have more freedom to choose a job than before, and the changing of careers is beyond our imagination. Therefore, it is more difficult for people to predict which career would success.