TPO 4 _ Independent TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have appeared endless discussions over cars in the future. Car manufacturers argue that after twenty years, the number of cars will decrease. Personally, I express my disapproval of this argument.

On one hand, what takes my priority is the price of cars. It is well noted that in the next twenty years, there will certainly be a great number of innovations and upgrades to cars. Cars’ gas mileage is likely to be improved, thus reducing the amount of cash spent on gasoline. Their production costs are also bound to decrease, with help from innovations by manufacturers. As a result, there is likelihood that owning a car will become much less expensive than today. For that reason, people have fewer setbacks from buying a car, hence the number of cars will surely increase. More interestingly, the fact is that after a long period like twenty years, it is highly likely that people become more prosperous than nowadays. Correspondingly, car prices no longer become a large burden to many people, and more are able to afford a car. It follows that a larger number of people purchase cars for themselves, augmenting the car population of the world. Indeed, it is clear that there will be an increase in the number of cars within the next twenty years.

On the other hand, some people might say that due to awareness of environmental pollution, people no longer have interest in owning a car. As a consequence, this immensely reduces the amount of cars in twenty years. However, that is not necessarily the case. In fact, with the current growth of high technology, electric cars will soon become widely available. This type of vehicle do not require gasoline, hence they have little impact on polluting the environment. Furthermore, it is common knowledge that the world is developing faster as time goes by. Subsequently, in twenty years, people have higher needs for an efficient form of travelling. As a result, this gives people a larger incentive to owning cars, making them more willing to purchase cars. This leads to a greater number of car purchases, which in turn enhances the car population. By and large, the claim that the amount of cars will be greatly reduced in twenty years is intrinsically wrong.

In summary, cheaper cars, wealthier potential buyers and increase in need for cars are convincing reasons for my disapproval. It is highly recommended that car manufacturers should take my writing into detailed consideration to make a suitable decision on cars in the future.