TPO 4 _ Independent TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays we are so much dependent on cars and other modes of transport. Since our frequency of travel for different purpose increase, we can not think of our life without cars. In my opinion, there will be more cars in use in the future. Therefore, I disagree with the statement. I feel this way for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, a decreased price will make everyone enable to effort a car. Because of technological advancement, various car manufacturing companies will be able to reduce their prices. This reduction in price will help lots of people to buy a car. My father is the best example of this logic. About ten years ago, when I was in class 8, we were not so much solvent. It was very difficult for my father to effort a car due to its high price. We used public transport for our mobility. But about three years ago, when lots of companies were offering cars at a lower price, my father brought a car. If the prices of cars were not lessened, my father would not be able to buy a car. Therefore, I believe, the car price will be much lower than today it is, thus will lead most people to buy cars.

Second, people's attraction to luxurious goods to show their social status. Nowadays, people are so much attracted to luxurious goods like cars. They believe, these goods reflect their social status. To show off their social status, they try hard and soul to increase their luxurious goods. For example, about five years ago, when I was at college, I had a friend named Akash. His family was rich and they had one car. At that time only a few people own cars. But when many people started to purchase cars, Akash's father brought another two cars, one for his son and another for his mother. He did this because he wanted to show the difference between himself and other people's social status that is they are richer than others. Therefore, this tendency of people will increase the number of cars in the long run.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the use of cars will be increased in the future rather than decrease. Because the price of the car is decreasing day by day and attraction to luxurious goods like cars, which reflect the social status, is increasing gradually.