TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this rapidly growing technological world people are spending more time at their work than at their homes. There is no shortage of debate regarding factors that affect the job satisfaction of an individual. Generally speaking, I believe that having multiple jobs to finish bring more satisfaction to an individual than similar jobs. I feel this way for several reasons which I explore in following essay.

First, its important to consider that a person can easily lose his focus after spending a considerable amount of time on a partiular work or job. Certainly it's possible for some people to retain concentration for longer duration. But, its not the case with most of the people. My own personal experience is a compelling example for this. During my school also I could only concentrate on a lecture for at most 1 hour. After joining company I could work on a same issue for maximum of 3-4 hours. After that I needed break or some other issue to refresh my mind. If I continue working on same thing for entire day, then my efficieny decreases by half and I feel more stressed. Many of my friends and collegues have the same openion.

Second, its important to consider benifits of having multiple tasks. It improves our multi tasking ability which is one of the important things in this rapidly growing world. One can excel at many things. For example I am working in a team where we fix bugs in operating system. Along with coding and debugging, some times we get escalations and we need to communicate with customer directly. This has helped me to learn to communicate with people and understand their problem. Also, many times we need to travel to different parts of world to adress customer issues and to attend meetings. I enjoy travelling and it helps me to meet new people, get to know their culture and tradition and also to relieve stress. As a result, I am very happy with my job and all these would not have been possible if my task is to sit and code all day long.

Finally, having many different tasks in a day does not necessarily mean one has to abondon a particular work in middle and start new work. I would be the first person to admit that some tasks cannot be resolved in few hours and they need constant effort for longer duration. But, in most of the cases taking break or indulging in some other activity reduces stress. It also helps to see problem from different perspective.

In summary, based on the arguments explored above I am of the openion that its more benificial to work on multiple tasks than to carry out similar task for entire day.