TPO 42

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, workers are more satisfied when they do similar tasks all day long because if they do similar tasks regularly, they could be specialized in the tasks and therefore they do them more rapidly. in addition, since my major is Agricultural Economics, I studied the economics principles of Trade theory and its applications. The Trade theory proves the efficiency of labor specialization.

First of all, the workers, whether the job is laborious or not, are the most hard-working and respectful class of societies. Many of the workers are employed in industry sections such as textile, electronics, automobile, tailoring etc. Many of the tasks of these jobs are so tedious and it may prevent them to work hard and fast. One way to make them hard more rapidly is the Labor Specialization. If the tasks would have been divided between the workers, they will be more skilled at those specific tasks and therefore they do the designated tasks more rapidly. Personally, I have had a personal experience in tailoring industry about this approach. I usually work in a tailoring manufacture during summers. In a particular summer, I woreked for a manager whose manufacture made use of this approach. He had divided the tasks between workers. Hence, each person was obliged to do some specific tasks all day long. I perceived, however, that my performance had been improved in comparison to the other summers in other manufactures because I had specialized in the work and I was working so faster than before. One of the important consequences of this approach is that the workers do not get bored anymore. They can just do specific tasks all day long by more amount of energy.

It is also beneficial for the manager, because the output of the whole system could be enhanced and the workers manufacture many more number of that commodity.

The economics theories already proved the efficiency of Labor Specialization. But what is its advantages for the workers? Clearly, if the efficiency of the work would have been increased, the manager is able to rise the wage of the workers. In fact the workers will be more satisfied by higher levels of wages and improved welfare.

All in all, I disagree with the statement because if workers do similar tasks during a day, they will not only get less bored at work, but also the output efficiency of the work process will be increased.