TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

Everyone comes across to such a situation in their life time at some or the other point of time. But the ways to deal with such a circumstance can be different for every individual and it is quite difficult and can be very subjective. It would not be correct to justify one particular method and to dismiss other methods abruptly without discussing the advents and drawbacks of each one of them. However, in my opinion, it would be better to wait until the class gets over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher/leader for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is very important to reach to a conclusion or to be judgmental about someone only after assessing all the facts. There are times when a person is not intended to do or to say something deliberately but she/he might say something which highly inappropriate without his/ her conscious knowledge. In such a scenario, if one will point out at that person’s mistake in front of everyone then there is potential risk that a person will feel humiliated and one will also feel guilty later after knowing the reality. I can recall one of my friend’s incidents; his teacher had mentioned something wrong in the class which she did not realize but my friend noticed it. He immediately got up and pointed at his teacher’s mistake loudly. This not only made the teacher feel insulted in front of the whole class but he also got furious and stopped paying attention towards my friend which affected him a lot later. Hence, I believe it is essential to say the right thing but at the right place and right time.

Secondly, as we all will concur that no one likes to hear that they did a mistake or they what they said was wrong. Hence, it is extremely important to indicate at someone’s fault only in private and in a very polite manner especially when that person is superior to oneself because there are chances that his/her ego might get hurt. As I said above, that my friend did tell his teacher that he is wrong in front of the whole class, which made his teacher offended and he took it adversely. I think if he would have said the same to him in person then it wouldn’t have hurt him so much and he would have indeed taken it positively.

To recapitulate, I would like to mention that telling the truth is not a bad gesture but it is highly recommended to always take the proper timing and place into consideration. We should remember that every person is different and so their perspective. Nonetheless, it is wise to adopt all the precautionary ways to do the right thing.