TPO 43 Independent Writing TaskImagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion which of the following is the best thing to do Interrupt and correct the mistake right away Wai

In our daily life, all of us have ever been in such a situation that when attending a class or a meeting, we may find the speaker's view contradicts to our views. So there is a dilemma for us to choose between pointing out mistake right away and saying nothing. If I encounter with such situation, I would choose to further explore the question with the teacher or leader in person when class or meeting is over. The reason why I am not willing to interrupt and point out the inaccuracy during the class or meeting is that the speaker may feel embarrassed when being interrupted. Additionally, I do not want to disrupt the planned progress of the class or meeting. Supposing we are in a biology class now, all the students are carefully listening to the professor. When we come to analyze a new creature, the professor defines it as reptile. However, I have done many preparations about the topic before the class, so I am sure the species of the creature is mammal, not reptile. I realized that is professor 's mistake and I just feel too hesitate to correct the mistake. Everyone feels embarrassed when being challenged in front of many people. Furthermore, a class or a meeting has its plan of going on, we may interfere with the progress if we point out the mistake directly. If we correct the mistakes right away, then the emotion of the speakers might be affected or the pace of the presentation might be influenced. Saying nothing means that people accept wrong information and are unaware of that. If all of us lack the courage of challenging the authority or thinking independently, our society will never have amazing breakthroughs. From ancient time to contemporary time, critical thinking always plays a significant role. It is so crucial that we cannot lose this ability of thinking differently. For not to interrupt the speaker or to say nothing, I may choose to wait until the class or meeting is over and to talk to the teacher or the leader alone. By sharing ideas with the speaker, we both as well as other people will get benefits. Firstly, the class and meeting will go smoothly. Besides, we can exchange our opinions, which bring good to both of us. What is more, after discussion, we will find what is true and what is wrong, which will be conveyed to the students and attendances the next time, avoiding unnecessary mistakes. Above these reasons I have listed, I think strongly that it is wise to have a talk about the mistakes made in the class or the meeting with the teacher or leader in person afterwards.