TPO 43 Independent Writing TaskImagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion which of the following is the best thing to do Interrupt and correct the mistake right away Wai

Throughout history, human beings have sometimes made mistakes in their life. Similarly, teachers and lecturers make some mistakes during their teachings. In this regard, there is a controversy among people on how to react toward teachers' mistakes. There are different approaches such as forgetting about the mistake, correcting the mistake immediately, and rectifying the mistake after the session. I believe that the third approach is the best way to correct an erroneous statement and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, interrupting the teacher is disruptive behavior. Teachers probably lose their concentration when they are interrupted and they may be not able to continue their speech. Thus, the session can be impractical due to the teacher's distraction. In addition, other students in the class may be distracted by this disruptive behavior and they may not be able to focus on their lesson as well. Take a personal experience as an example: last semester I had a class in which a student asked lots of questions and interrupted our teacher. Trying to answer the so-called student's questions, our teacher had difficulties getting back to the main topic of the session, and this phenomenon made the class efficiency decline dramatically. Regarding this example, people should avoid interrupting others.

Secondly, as we all know, it is inevitable to make some mistakes. No one can claim that he or she never makes mistakes. It is not embarrassing to make mistakes, but it is substantial to try to avoid repeating mistakes. Given that teachers are human beings, they may say some wrong statements in their class. Thus, students should inform them of their mistakes so that they can be aware of them and do not repeat their mistakes in other classes. But, students should respect their teachers and try not to hurt their teacher's reputation. Therefore, the best way to tell the teachers their mistakes is saying after class. In this way, Teachers understand their mistakes and they can maintain their reputation as well.

All in all, taking into account what was already mentioned, I believe that telling teachers their mistakes after class not only makes them aware of their faults but also helps them maintain their reputation.