TPO 45- independent writing taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use s

With the development of society, our living habits have been changed greatly. One of the most significant changes is the issue of whom we young people depend on when making a decision. In the past, young people usually depended on their older family members, especially their parents. However, in contemporary society, we young adults tend to make choice on our own. Here are the reasons.

Admittedly, in the past, the ways they acquired information, most of which come from experience, were limited. It was parents who are much more experienced than their children. In this case, they tended to listen to parents’ advice and let them to control determination. As we all know, over the several decades, parents made the decision for their children who they would marry with in China. At that time, girls had no chance to meet the young men with the same age. However, their parents had the permission to know their children’s future partners through various ways. Without doubt, it was a right choice to depend on their parents when making a decision in the past.

However, we can get access to a great amount of information, which do good to decision making nowadays. Surfing on the internet, clicking on the mouse, news will display on your computer screen within seconds. What’s more, after educating, we have learnt knowledge in a systematic way, which enable us to understand ourselves and the world better. All of these create a good atmosphere for us young people to make decision on ourselves. According to a survey conducted by Peking University aiming to find out how students choose their majors, 80 percent of students depend on their own while less than 20% decided by their parents or teachers instead. Most students are independent nowadays. They would listen to their parents, but it is themselves who determine the final choice.

Another important reason is that some of adults’ experience work less effectively on our generation because conditions change rapidly in the information age. In the past, it was less likely for youngsters to move out of their hometowns while we usually move from one place to another nowadays. So parents’ idea might not fit our situation any more. Consequently, we prefer to make a decision depend on our own experience.

In sum, for the reasons I mentioned above, I totally agree that in contemporary society, we young adults are better able to make choice on our own.