TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

There is no gainsaying that friendships are an integral part of human beings’ lives and most of the people have striking bonds with their friends. In this respect, there are controversial arguments whether people should be able to maintain their friendships with a small number of people for a long time or make news and extensive friendships with more people. From my perspective, the people should attach more importance to have small number of friends for a long time rather than to have extensive people as friend. The ensuing paragraphs will elaborate my points of view.

First exquisite point to be mentioned is that human beings might encounter to some problems during their live. There is no debate that the great majority of people have been in predicament and they just know their real friend under these difficult circumstances. For instance, when I was studying in university, I had some severe financial distress and I had no enough money to pay my cost of life. I asked most my friends to lend me money but nobody did not accept. I asked my old best friend who was my high school classmate. He immediately lent to me and I found that having a close friend is indispensable why most of the friends are just fair-weather friends.

Second point that comes to my mind is that most of the people cannot trust to others for telling their feelings. In other words, everybody has some secrets that he/she can talk about with just some close friends. There is no doubt that in these conditions, close friends are necessary. Because, in this way, people can be more relaxed. For instance, one of my friend wanted to marry with his classmate and he was anxious and he wavered to make decision. He talked to my and we deliberated about some profound issues in marriage and finally he could make decision for his future.

Last but not least, it is undeniable that new friends always provide new and fresh opportunities for us to learn new things. However, we can just acquire some shallow knowledge and information from them not profound one. For instance, I worked in stock market and some of my friend worked as an independent financial analyst. Nevertheless, just some of my close friends share their analysis with me. Therefore, just close friends provide a real opportunity sincerely.

In conclusion, contemplating all aforementioned paragraphs, people who have some old friends are able not only to cope with problems more successfully but also express their innermost feeling with them.