TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

In an intensive information era with a high proliferation of mass media and widespread of the Internet, it is not uncommon to find young people tend to cite several celebrities' words first as a support before they express their own views these days, while such scenarios are rarely observed in the adults. Accordingly, there is a rising belief that celebrities’ opinions impose more impact on the young people than on the adults, with which I will agree and take this view on account of the following reasons.

Firstly on the psychological groundings, compared to the mature adults who have usually fully developed their mindset and received long-time education, the young people are still in their formative years, which is a period especially vulnerable to all sorts of opinions. As a result of this immaturity, they tend to seek seemingly more impressive and compelling words to believe or just to persuade themselves. Usually, this kind of convincing words come from parents and teachers, however, many young people are also experiencing rebellious periods, leading to their resistance to every single word from their parents or teachers. Consequently, the glaze and glamour in those successful celebrities, such as household singer like Adele , honorable sportsman like Liu Xiang and bestselling writer JK Rowling , all of them will definitely deeply impress the young people who have just start dreaming their future, in particular to those who want to pursue and fulfill some dreams in related fields.The young people have to seek some models to learn from and some inspiration to motive them move forward. As a result, it makes sense the success observed in those celebrities may serve as persuasive evidence for them to firmly believe what the celebrities say. But this won't function in adult, as the adults are already keeping steadily in their own way and could depend on their own knowledge and skills.

The second factor to take into account is the media development has made us surrounded by celebrities. Compared to the limited social contact decades ago, nowadays young people are living in an information explosion era, making the celebrities more accessible. Considering the easy availability of wifi and smartphones, with the help of which the young people now can keep track with their fascinating celebrities whenever and wherever just by pressing the "follow" icon in the twitter and keeping in touch with the Internet. In addition, nowadays television programs are saturated with celebrities to attract audiences as well as commercial advertisements are employing celebrities to advocate their products. Therefore, consciously or unconsciously , the young people are now living in a world largely exposed to celebrities. Because they are so immature as illustrated above, it is not strange to admit the fact that the more time they are exposed to celebrities, the more chances they will let their own ideas flow with the impressive celebrities. On the other hand, older people who have been occupied by mundane chores like work and family and who have enjoyed happiness and sorrow in life would have less interest in those time-wasting things.

Everything existing has its influence on other things indiscriminately, although varies from the different objective characteristic, I must admit celebrities opinions also have affected the older one, adults frenzy of politician and deeply believe in those famous politician promises is just an example to name. However, given the factors explained above, I still believe the young people are more likely to subject themselves to celebrities’ opinions.