TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Good friendship is an important aspect of everyone's lives. Although many may say that a friend is not a must ,they are the ones who keep us going strong ,knowingly or unknowingly, in a world of joys and sorrows. In my opinion, maintaining a small group of true friends for a longer time is better rather than having a lot who call themselves friends but may not be. Friends can have a very big impact on our lives either in a good or bad way for the following reasons.

First, friends are the ones we turn to when we need to share situations that we may not be able to talk to our siblings or parents . I have a best friend in school . When I had a big quarrel with another classmate, she was the one I turned to and shared my views and vows on why I had that fight. She was supportive but also stood her ground and asked me to apologize to my class mate ,with whom i fought ,as it was my fault and not the other persons'. This showed me that I could turn to her when I needed her for ideas and support and could discuss if I was taking a right decision.

Secondly, friends share same interests and ideas. Smaller group of friends having same ideas and interests ,always do things together. They help to develop each other. I had a small group of friends in college. We all loved to garden . Whenever we got a chance during holidays,we would meet at one of our homes and do gardening together. This helped us to bond together and have an interest that we cherish to this day.

Finally, small group of friends keep in touch rather than a large group. When I studied in college, I used to stay in boarding school . We were a small group of friends but loved each other very much. We had our share of ups and downs but we still maintain that friendship even though all of us are now married and have a bunch of kids.

In conclusion, I would always recommend a small group of friends who we will always cherish in our lives and communicate wherever we are in this world. They are our best friends forever.