TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Maintaining old friendships or making new friends always has been a controversial issue among people. While there are some people believe that maintaining friendships over a long period of time is more important, there are others holding the view that the ability to make new friends is essential to be happy. As far as I am concerned, having old friends is the best thing to be happy. I will vindicate my standpoint in the following article.

The first point that juts out of the mind is the fact that old friends are familiar with your personality. Put simply, a friend who knows you for several years is familiar with the issues and behaviors that may hurt your feelings. An example of my own experiences can shed some light on this issue. Khayyam is one of my old friends and we have known each other since the primary school. Accordingly, he knows about my feelings about certain issues such as; politics and religion. As a result, he does not argue with me about these issues in a way that might hurt my feelings. For example, he never says anything inappropriate about a politician who is my favorite one. Consequently, old friends are the people who behave in a way that you feel more comfortable and satisfied.

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that mutual memories are the best part of the friendships. Moreover, when two persons know each other for a long period of time they would have many interesting mutual memories. Accordingly, they can review these memories in reunions and have lots of fun. For example, I and Khayyam have many funny memories about things we did in the primary school years. Consequently, reviewing these funny memories is one of our favorite things that we do when we meet each other. Last time we got together, we talked and laughed about a memory of our first elementary school, in which we took a watermelon to the class, for three hours. As a result, if a person has old friends, he can have more fun by reviewing the old memories of this friendship.

To make a long story short, old friendships, which still remain, are the best belongings that a person could have to be happy. All in all, everyone should have some old friends to remember the best moment of his past.