TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

There have appeared endless discussions over course selection in university. Some university officials argue that history courses should be mandatory for every student regardless of their intended major. Personally, I strongly disagree with the argument.

On one hand, what takes my priority is education quality. It is apparent that when not having taking a history course, students are left with more time and energy to invest elsewhere. If used wisely, this extra time and energy is a golden chance for students. For example, they can enroll in a course, other than history, that is more useful and closer to their intended studies. They can also invest this time and energy into a class that they already enrolled in. Regardless of the option they choose, students will surely obtain a lot of useful knowledge from school. More interestingly, one fewer history course is one fewer class to worry about. Instead of stressing out over history grades, students will be more relaxed and happier. With a lighter mental state, it is highly possible that students will perform better in other classes, thus having a better academic performance overall. In short, students are bound to have a better education quality without a mandatory history course.

On the other hand, some might argue that all that is gained from history classes is critical and cannot be passed on. Historical events and the lessons drawn from them are critical to the students future careers. However, this is not necessarily the case. In fact, while lessons from the past are important, history courses at university do not cover all the material that is needed while containing many useless information. Moreover, it is common knowledge that with nowadays, students now have other methods to study rather than going to classes. Assisted by the Internet, students have the ability to go on their computers and find a suitable course or video series that teaches what they need or want to learn. Another old-fashioned approach would be to pick up a book from library and read when they are not involved with classes or assignments. Students are able to control the pace of studying and the source of information from which to learn. As a result, it is possible that they have a study better compared to being dependent on university professors and syllabus. With no doubt, the claim that knowledge taught history classes cannot be passed on is intrinsically wrong.

In conclusion, all the mentioned above are convincing reasons for my argument that history courses should be enforced for every student at university.