TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

My friend Jack recently told me that his university required all the student to take history courses. Their teacher thought that students should study history because they can learnt from the history, and they could get some solution to the problem by analyzing their precursor's view. However, I insist that university student shouldn't take mandatory history class.

Firstly, the additional mandatory history course will add academic burden and financial burden to the students. As a university student, I already have a very heavy burden in my major. For example, In order to earn one academic credit, I need to develop a computer system within three weeks and make a ten minutes presentation, so I really have no time to take another history class. Also, some students do not have enough money to cover the additional fee of the history class. Many student need to do some part-time job in order to feed themselves. If the required class asks them to take more job, I don't think the university student will support this policy.

Secondly, university students don't have need to take the history class. All of the students in China are required to take history class in the middle school. Take myself as an example, I have studied history for six year, and I have learnt about what happened in the world, from ancient people in Africa to World War 2, from Chinese dynasty to American democracy. As for university student, it is ridiculous to them if they need to study the knowledge twice. And if they are required to, they are likely missing the class, or impolite to the teacher, because they can pass the final exam easily.

Admittedly, history class is a good chance to let students know about what happened in history, and it can provide some wise ideas about dealing with social problems. But in my opinion, the required history class is not suitable to the university student, because they have no time, no money, and no need to take the class.