TPO 50

all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

The issue of whether all students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is, aroused much controversy among people with different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that taking history courses should be compulsory for all university students in all field, while others have a negative attitude. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the former group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that studying history gives students an opportunity to know about their identity and what happened in the past until now that help them realize what their actual responsibility is. They learn about their ancestors who dedicated their life for the future of country. For instance, the soldiers who battled for independence and freedom which cost thousands of blood. Without any doubt, this information would have an influence on their mind and changes their viewpoint about many things. After that time, they study and work to be a useful member of society and get involve in the development of their country to appreciate their ancestor’s sacrifices.

In approaching this issue, apart from the points that stated above, another reason that deserves some words is that studying history is illuminating and we can learn a lot from history. We can find the roots of many obstacles in our country when comparing with the past. Every section of history reveals the weaknesses and strengths that caused a nation developed or destroyed. To illustrate that idea let’s consider the following example. My country lagged behind its neighbors in all area in recent decades and it was an important question for me why this country with that shining past could not develop and became weak and isolation in the world. When I studied the history of the country I realized that in the past, democracy permitted people to participate in all fields like economics and politics and so on. Man and woman had the same rights and there was not any discrimination between them since kings always care about people. However, with the revolution in 1980, ruthless rulers made a religious country with strict laws that were against human right like the woman should do households not to get a job out of their home, therefore, they eliminate half of the population who were important for growing our society.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that taking history courses should be required for all students because by studying history students not only know about their identity and sacrifices that help their country grows but also it is informative that assists us to avoid repeating the mistakes of our forefathers.