TPO 50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

"The past is the light for the future." This is a famous quotation among history teachers in my country which represent briefly what I want to illustrate in this essay.

At the high school and also in universities, courses such as history are being less respected or paid attention because students consider history course the most tedious coursework in their entire education. But, regardless of this neglection, I believe that this course should be compulsory in the educational schedule. The history is actually the social and group memory in every country and in the entire world. The history of societies comprises overcomings and failures, feelings of happiness and sadnesses and all political, cultural and social events which are responsible for the formation of the culture and social system in that country. However, the question is posed by lots of students that why an elite and erudite individual should take courses about history? In short, the answer is that we should study history because we should recall what hardships were passed in the country and we should learn from the mistakes that the whole society committed in the past. Let me explain with a specific example. The current situation and history of My country Afghanistan is full of tragic occurrences which are responsible for many troubles and problems now the society is facing. The most unfortunate tragic event was murdering the 62 percent of a specific tribe by a queen who belonged to another tribe that they thought they are superior to the other tribes. Another example is the civil war in Afghanistan after the Soviet Union collapsed. Almost all tribes were involved in a disastrous war which had no result for the people except disaster, migration and humanitarian tragedies. So, if the students and elites in Afghanistan society are not willing to experience the disastrous events which have occurred just a few decades ago, they should be required to take a course about their history. By studying the history of the disasters, they will try to avoid the struggles that resulted in previous experiences.

All in all, the study of the history is essential for every member of every society because they can prevent tragic events and are able to make a better future for their kids and for all members of society as well.