tpo 51 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the advent of modern technology, it is undeniable that means of media, such as movies and television, have become an integral part of our daily life. This reality has led to a number of debates around the world on whether watching TV and movies is good for viewers, especially young ones. Although I admit these types of media can cause some troubles, I believe they are more beneficial than harmful.

First of all, considering all the benefits TV and movies have to offer young children, the advantages of watching them significantly outweigh the disadvantages. Human are capable of learning a lot better at a young age and these auditory-visual means of media are of great help. There is no shortage of channels where young viewers can be educated on different subjects that may not be taught at school or by their parents. For instance, I teach English for kids at a local center in town and sometimes I get really surprised at how well some of my kids are communicating in English while none of their parents is native speaker of this language. It turns out the parents have let them watch English contents and movies on TV ever since they were little so they have been able to acquire a new language just from watching. Apart from learning, no one can deny watching television and movies is a great way to not only entertain oneself, but also to know what is going on and thus have good discussions with friends and families.

On the other hand, the number of negative impacts resulted from watching movies and television are surely not a lot and can be easily avoided. Those concerning impacts mostly circle around the fear of inappropriate contents, ocular sickness and addiction, however, they will not be of any issues with the help of parents. Not just movies or television, anything in the life of a children can be detrimental to their health and personality if there is no guidance from grown-ups to let them know whether something is good to do. In the case of media, parents can simply control the contents young people can access and the amount of time for watching, or educate them on the negative effects television can bring. That way, we can make use of TV and movies for the best of the young while minimizing possible harms.

In conclusion, the benefits a young child can obtain from watching contents on the screen are obvious and undeniable. Although there might be some negative effects on young people mostly due to the lack of control and guidance from adults, they can be eliminated and thus not be of great concerns.