TPO 51 - Independent Essay

Media is indeed the 4th estate. It is true that people can be influenced about what television and movies show. In my opinion, there are more positive than negative implications on the way youngsters respond to the content provided by the media.

To begin with, television is one of the most effective mass media in the world, capable of spreading worldwide reliable news. Most all of the countries have their own news channels with daily information about what is happening all over the world, from politics and economy to fashion and the royal family. Everything is captured by journalists from all over the world and communicated to many spectators settled on the comfort of their home. I can keep up with my countries happenings by watching the American news channels and sometimes even the local channels from my own country. It is crucial to be well informed, and for this reason, kids should watch the news on TV everyday.

I believe that movies are capable to lead us between art and knowledge. The productions can create a fiction story but can also recreate history in a very interesting way, complementing schools content and education. Videos are a unique way of communication with the young people. For instance, my kids are usually bored with History books and I can perfectly understand their reasons. History books are heavy and sometimes it is hard to imagine certain situations from the past. But, when they watch a movie about some history passage like France Revolution, for example, it is easier to understand the behaviors and reasons behind the events from that age and learn what happened. I believe that history teachers should use and recommend more films to make the classes more interesting for the children.

Finally, there is a huge industry behind the scenes and a lot of job opportunities for the new generation. Netflix is an example of a big transformation that television had on the last years with the demanding content online. A whole new world is opening and lots of new professionals appearing There are not only movies, but also series as a new trend. The sector is growing, and children should keep up with what kind of content it is being provided and learn about these new professions from TV, movies or series makers.