TPO 53 Writing IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

In today's modern world, governments have a limited amount of money, and they should spend it as efficiently as possible, considering the priorities. While some believe that Internet access is more critical than public transportation, others believe otherwise. As far as I am concerned, improving public transportation throughout the country has a greater significance in comparison to access to the Internet. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, it will be very beneficial for the government if people have access to public transportation. Since producing or importing fuel is very expensive, the government pays quite a lot of money for fuel subsidies. It stands to reason that if people use their own vehicles, they will need a significant amount of gas or gasoline every day. Therefore, the government should provide more fuel, so spend more money. On the other hand, if people have access to adequate public transportation, they obviously do not need to use their cars. About twenty people can be carried around the city or even between cities with one bus. Consequently, the fuel assumption will be much lower, and the government can save quite a lot of money.

Second, by using public transportation, the environment will be healthier, which will benefit the government. If people use their vehicles, the traffic in the cities will get worse, especially in city centers. This traffic will severely pollute the air, and the noise will be intolerable. Many of the people who live in cities will get sick and need medical care. As a result, the government has to spend a lot of money on peoples' health and their remedy. They should build more hospitals and infirmaries and hire more doctors and nurses. These tasks can be very expensive. In contrast, if the government provides effective public transportation, the traffic will be better, and the city environment will be healthier. Therefore, the government has to spend less money on peoples' cure.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that the government should spend more money on improving effective public transportation rather than Internet access because it will be much more beneficial for the government.