TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Governments usually have a limited budget, and they have to spend it as efficiently as possible, considering the priorities. While some people believe that arts are more critical to be supported by the governments, others believe otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that the government should put more focus and investment in arts than athletics. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, investing money in art is a long time investment, and society will enjoy it for years. I mean, by spending money on athletics, maybe some athletes become champions for several years, but it will entertain people for a limited time. After a while, people will forget about those events or do not care about it anymore. On the other hand, art remains for centuries. When a great artist presents some excellent works, such as paintings or sculptures, people will enjoy it at that time. Also, after many years people still can enjoy and get inspired by those artworks. For instance, a few centuries ago, in Europe, the Italian government invested quite a lot of money on arts. Some great painters and sculptures arose at that time, such as Michael Angelo. These artists made some great artworks that people still enjoy and love.

Second, more extensive strata of the society can enjoy arts. If the government spends too much money on sports, only a small group of people, such as particular athletes or coaches, will benefit this investment. Although people may watch the events and enjoy it, but it will not be so widespread. In contrast, during a long period of time, a vast range of people will enjoy artworks. For example, the United States government invests a great deal of money in sports like basketball. Although many people watch it, they cannot inspire every person. Only those boys who live in developed countries and possess tall and huge bodies can pursue basketball. However, everyone from all over the planet gets inspired by the works of Leonardo da Vinci.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that governments should spend more money on arts rather than athletics. It is because artworks remain for a long time, and many people can enjoy them.